Since 2016, the Kindle Storyteller Award has celebrated exceptional writing, awarding both bestselling and emerging authors the chance to win a literary prize of £20,000. Amazon always seeks to champion original and creative writing, and we are proud to celebrate the boundless creativity and ingenuity found within the independent writing community.

A variety of original stories fill the five shortlist spots for this year’s Award, introducing readers to a sadistic killer on the streets of Inverness; the whirlwind experience of a once-in-a-lifetime kiss; a gripping psychological thriller; a romantic escape to the Scottish Highlands; and the latest chapter in an unmissable Viking saga.

This year’s award will be announced on 24th October by guest judge and bestselling author, Adam Kay, who will present one of the five shortlisted authors with a £20,000 prize at a ceremony held in Central London. Joining Kay on the judging panel will be last year’s winner Rachel McLean, as well as an esteemed cohort of literary authorities and Amazon experts, including best-selling author Mel Sherratt and Organisation Member Manager for ALLi (Alliance of Independent Authors) Melissa Addey; joined by Amazon UK’s Author and Editorial Programmes Manager Darren Hardy and Jen Barrett, Amazon Books Editorial.

“Year after year we’ve witnessed authors produce outstanding books and 2022 is no different,” said Darren Hardy, Author and Editorial Programmes Manager at Amazon UK. “It’s been difficult to whittle it down to five books, let alone one, but it’s fantastic to see so many people continue to pursue, and for some, newly launch a career as an author. It just shows the possibilities Kindle Direct Publishing has to offer, and I’m thoroughly enjoying getting stuck into each shortlisted title with the rest of the judges, and finding this year’s winner.”

This year’s shortlist for the Kindle Storyteller Award

King of War by Peter Gibbons

Based in Kildare, Ireland, Peter has a passion for historical fiction, Fantasy, science fiction, and of course writing.

His books include The Wrath of Ivar, Axes For Valhalla, as well as the Saxon Warrior Series which will be released on 31st October 2022. King of War is the fourth book in the Viking Blood and Blade Saga. Set in 874 AD, Norway, a brutal place, home of warriors where Odin holds sway. King Harald Fairhair fights to become king of the north.

PeterGibbons_KingOfWar_B09Z77DNTG.jpg Amazon Kindle Storyteller

The Woman in Room 19 by Ann Girdharry

Ann Girdharry is a British crime thriller author and trained psychotherapist who previously worked as a manager in the not-for-profit sector.

An avid reader who loves to review books, Ann blogs for the Huff Post UK and today lives in Montpellier, France with her family. The Woman in Room 19 is a gripping psychological suspense, full of twists.

AnnGirdharry_TheWomanInRoom19_B0B3MJ1V2B.jpg Kindle Storyteller

City of Scars by JD Kirk

A shortlister from 2021, JD Kirk is back again.

Living and writing from the Highlands of Scotland with his wife, two children, and a number of sturdy umbrellas, City of Scars is the 14th book in the multi-million selling DCI Logan Scottish crime fiction series.

JDKirk_CityOfScars_B09XMX1QVH.jpg Amazon Kindle Storyteller

Midsummer House by Rachael Lucas

Living by the seaside in the northwest of England, Rachael Lucas has written thirteen novels for adults and teenagers.

When she's not writing at the kitchen table with a coffee by her side, she's out walking the dogs on the beach or the nearby pinewoods. Midsummer House is a small-town tale full of friendship, love and romance, from the bestselling author of The Winter Cottage and The Flower Farm.

RachaelLucas_MidsummerHouse_B09JXJV2BM.jpg Amazon Kindle Storyteller Awards

It Started with a Kiss by Clare Lydon

Clare Lydon is a London-based writer of contemporary lesbian romance.

She's a No.1 best-seller on lesbian fiction charts around the globe and if you enjoy romantic comedies, prepare to fall in love with this, slow-burn romantic comedy set in a sun-drenched UK vineyard.

ClareLydon_ItStartedWithAKiss_B0B3TV2D85.jpg Amazon Kindle Storyteller Awards

The winner will be announced on 24th October 2022.

Learn more about the Kindle Storyteller Award.