The Kindle Storyteller Award champions the best self-published writers from the UK and beyond, offering new and bestselling Kindle Direct Publishing authors the chance to win a literary prize of £20,000 as well as a bespoke Amazon marketing campaign for the winning title.

The Kindle Storyteller Award is back for 2023 and is looking for the best book self published through Kindle Direct Publishing.

See all five of this year's shortlisted books below.

My Brother’s Keeper by ML Rose

My Brother's Keeper by ML Rose

Mick Bose, better known by the pen name ML Rose, is the bestselling author of the gripping DCI Rohan Roy books, with the shortlisted My Brother’s Keeper the first of the nail-biting series. With a missing child, a taunting killer on the loose and a detective with a deadly secret, be prepared to be kept on the edge of your seat as DCI Rohan Roy seeks to discover the truth.

Greek Secret by Francesca Catlow

Greek Secret by Francesca Catlow

During lockdown, Francesca Catlow looked for a way to create her own freedom whilst kept wide awake at night, and so, the heart-wrenching Mediterranean romance Greek Secret was born. Jump aboard Ruby’s adventure as she agrees to spend the summer working for her aunt in Corfu, in a tale full of emotional twists, harboured secrets and suspense.

Forsaken Commander by G J Ogden

Foresaken Commander by GJ Ogden

Based in Flintshire, Wales, former technology journalist and physics graduate G J Ogden has written over 45 science fiction novels, including the shortlisted Forsaken Commander, the first of his epic Aternian Wars books. Expect the ultimate blend of space opera and militaristic sci-fi as you follow an elite crew of augmented officers fighting a post-human enemy in a read that will take you to another world.

Award-winning authors share their best tips on how to publish a bestseller.

A Midlife Gamble by Cary J Hansson

A Midlife Gamble by Cary J Hansson

After years of globe-trotting and an eclectic mix of jobs ranging from dancer to double-glazing sales rep, fifty-something Cary J Hansson moved to Sweden to start her own mid-life adventure. A Midlife Road Trip is the emotional third tale in her Midlife Trilogy women’s fiction series, where we see if a trip to sin city can rekindle a lost friendship. If you like witty and mature heroines, wrestling with hard truths, and friendships that run deep, then you’ll love her heart-rending conclusion.

Silent Ruin by David J Gatward

Silent Ruin by David J Gatward

Wensleydale-bred David J Gatward enters the shortlist for Silent Ruin, the transfixing ‘whodunit’ from his DCI Harry Grimm crime thriller books. Join the unflappable DCI as he spearheads the search for a pair of young lovers in the dramatic fourteenth book of this Yorkshire-set series, the perfect read for all crime fiction lovers.

About the Kindle Storyteller Award 2023

The Kindle Storyteller Award 2023 winner will be announced on 13th November 2023. The judging panel this year include award-winning TV presenter and bestselling author Sue Perkins; broadcaster, writer and member of the House of Lords Baroness Floella Benjamin; last year’s winner, Peter Gibbons; Alliance of Independent Authors representative, Roz Morris; Amazon spokespersons Lisa de Meyer (UK Books Country Manager), Darren Hardy (Author and Editorial Programmes Manager) and Taylor Mirkarimi (Black Employee Network (BEN) UK Book Club Lead); and content creator Khudayja Makda (@LiteraryTheBest).

Darren Hardy, Author and Editorial Programmes Manager at Amazon UK said: “Whittling down the thousands of Kindle Storyteller Award entries to just five books gets more difficult each year! It’s fantastic to see the unstoppable creativity and talent of self-published authors yet again as we enter our seventh year of the award, and I’m proud to see so many people launch and build their literary careers with Kindle Direct Publishing. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed getting stuck into each shortlisted title with the rest of this year’s judges and we look forward to crowning our winner in November.”

Learn more about the Kindle Storyteller Award.